Whew!  The Holy Hands Mime Team had another great practice.  This is my first attempt at such things so it’s really fun.  But tonight the nerves kicked in–I realized, “Hey!  This isn’t just some fun stuff I’m learning with friends–we actually have to perform this whole thing in front of an audience!  A big audience!  In two weeks!!”  So here’s a link to one that is a lot like ours but not exactly–same concept though–and I was really touched by it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXjk4JvC3lg

It’s already a hectic week–not to mention the fact that the month of March is pretty much done.  Avery’s birthday always causes so much chaos–I guess cuz it’s Easter and so much to do at church so in an effort to make sure there is fair celebration for all we usually end up having a gazillion parties for her–the “friends” party, the “family” gathering, and the “real day” celebration–it’s exhausting.  And totally unnecessary and yet I find myself every year in the same trap.

I got flowers today from my husband I must brag.  It was a nice surprise–though I must say the florist sort of takes that element away when they call first to confirm you’ll be there to receive the delivery.

I have a problem with this.  It reminds me of when something happens in a loved one’s life–a death, a tough circumstance, whatever–and you want to do something nice for them–bring a meal, stop by for a visit–but you call first.  Doesn’t that just indicate that you’re really thinking about you–not about them–like if you happened to go by and they not be home–well–you wouldn’t want someone else to inconvenience you in their time of need.  I don’t know if that’s a cultural thing, a local thing, or just an individual thing–but that has always bothered me.  I just say if you know there’s a need–meet it.  Don’t make a plan and get a confirmation number–just meet the need and be there.  There may be some circumstances where more sensitivity is necessary–but in general, people in the hospital or in mourning don’t turn their friends away when they’re trying to comfort them or show them support.  Even if they do, when the storm passes over they will remember that you were there–that you got past being uncomfortable or nervous and just showed up for them.

This might come from me growing up in a home with a pretty “open door” policy.  Culturally, we Chamorros usually cook extra “in case” someone stops by–and we tend to “drop in” unannounced–and it’s all good–a “mi casa es su casa” kind of thing.  We force food on you when you walk in the door–insisting that though you just ate you must be hungry.  We call very distant and questionable relations “aunt” and “uncle.”  We defrost some meat and fire up the grill with the ding-dong of the doorbell.  Maybe we just didn’t respect other people’s privacy–but we were never turned away and never told anyone it was a “bad” time.  I loved it, and I find that I miss that sometimes…so I guess I shouldn’t aspire to be a florist.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

