Ode to Love

As you all know–Valentine’s Day is Saturday!!  Just wondering–how many of you make a celebration of this day?  I guess I’ve always thought of it more for people who were like–dating or whatever–but not for married people, and definitely not for kids–as in–go spend a lot of money on your kids for Valentine’s Day.  Have I got that all mixed up? Ya’ll let me know what you do to celebrate-and with whom–and I’ll decide from there if I’ll participate.  I’ve always said it was just a marketing ploy to boost  sales between Christmas and Easter–but hey–I guess I could do my part to turn this economy around and buy some chocolate hearts and teddy bears.

Well how’s this for a celebration of love–Gram and Papa celebrate 37 years of marriage tomorrow.  Now that’s something to celebrate!  I just want to say–I have never seen a husband and wife more committed to each other  than these.  I am so blessed to have them as a model before me–each one giving selflessly and forgiving freely.  I am reminded of Paul’s famous letter to the Corinthians, “Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.”  1 Cor 13:4-5

Happy Anniversary you two!  I love you both so much!!

Grow old along with me
the best is yet to be.

– Robert Browning –

One word frees us of all the weight and pain of life:
that word is love.

– Sophocles –

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ode to Love

  1. Gram

    Thank you so much, my precious daughter. You have made me cry.Papa and I have had some good times and some not so good times. But we
    took our vows to heart and here we are still in love after all these years.
    I thank God for him and what he means to me and our family. He is truly
    one of the MOST SELFLESS people I’ve ever known.
    Thanks, again. All my Love, mom

  2. jean

    i think i commented in the wrong section about this sorry!

  3. Pingback: One Less Piece of Paper

Leave a Reply

